Baubles, bangles and beads

24 12 2013

special mum and dad

This time last year as I spent the evening with FFOMC I couldnt wait for Christmas morning.

As is our tradition we start the day by opening our Christmas stockings in bed, usually at an unreasonably early hour despite the absense of children in our home.

I was particularly excited about a small gift nestled in the toe of his stocking – a last minute purchase inspired by one of FFOMC’s weaker moments following a work party. He had come home tipsy and bleary eyed and for some reason a little emotional about the worry that we would never have a family of our own. I reassured him that although I wasn’t ready to start a family that second in time, I did want to be the mother of his children.

The next day on a last minute shopping trip I discovered the Christmas bauble pictured above. It doubles as a money box and reads:

“Merry Christmas to a Special Mum and Dad”

I wrapped it carefully and attached a tag with the following words written on it:

“This gift is only little, but it’s special in a way,

It’s a promise of the future that I’ll spend with you one day.

For now you just protect it & fill it up with me,

And maybe this time next year it can hang upon our tree.

You’ll need to make the nice list so you better not be bad,

And by this time of next year you could be a special Dad.”

At the time I wrote these words I had no immediate plans to become a parent but low and behold, one year later I am once again excited on Christmas Eve, but this year our special Christmas bauble is hanging on the tree and we are anxious to open a card which will reveal whether we are expecting a little boy or a little girl.

FFOMC will indeed make a wonderful father and no doubt this time next year we will be filled with all the excitement experienced by all new parents about to spend their first Christmas with their first child.

Happy Christmas everyone!

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

