Wozzeck

13 11 2013

Wozzeck 16

As of yesterday I can tick off – “Watch a German Opera” from my bucket list.

I should mention that no deliberate attempt was made on my part to a/ add “Watch a German Opera” to my bucket list or b/ make any effort whatsoever to attend a German Opera but such is life.

It comes as something of a shock when one arrives at the theatre to see and play and discover it is in actual fact an opera in German that lasted for a total of two hours WITHOUT an interval.

Last night marked my first visit to the Royal Opera House and the stunning building is in itself a reason to visit. My trip was to see German Opera Wozzeck to support students, who will be studying the psychological tale of poverty, betrayal and scientific experimentation; all of which ultimately lead to a violent and bloody finale.

I was familiar with the story and found this beneficial while both watching the drama unfold and reading the subtitles at the same time. I do not have an ear for Opera being unfamiliar with the genre so although the vocal prowess of the performers was a source of fascination for me and the piercing highs and throbbing lows of the score gave a clear insight into the emotional turmoil experienced by the characters I would not claim to have left humming the tune on the journey home.

It was far from an uplifting experience as the story is extremely dark and it was a draining experience.

The set and directors concept to use twisted perspective and hidden panels in the set to communicate Wozzeck’s life being turned upside down as his relationship deteriorates and his mental illness takes hold was visually stunning and although the set was comprised mainly of white tiled walls and flooring the revelation of a hidden section behind the backdrop with strong primary colours illustrating the moon and mirrored panelling to duplicate the action onstage but as though characters were suspended in mid air and often hanging upside down provided significant visual interest. I was a also a fan of the addition of extra staging placed DSR to create a room in Wozzeck’s house which did not quite fit within the dimensions of the stage proper highlighting Marie’s dialogue about poor people enjoying only a small corner of the world and a single mirror.

So although this experience may not have been what I expected from my evening out and the genre is not entirely to my personal taste it was enriching and thought provoking and definitely worth the trek up to London on a freezing cold November night.

Actions

Information

One response

16 11 2013
Prancing round like fairies wearing white unitards | Zehira-blog

[…] has been a very cultured week for me. Following my attendance at an opera on Tuesday tonight was Shakespearean comedy at the Yvonne Arnaud in […]

Leave a Reply

