Naming the bump

27 10 2013

heffalump

Long before parents-to-be discuss whether their growing baby will be a George, Mary, David or Susan; they are faced with the decision of how to address the “bump”. This is especially important before the sex of the child is known as the term “it” can hardly be considered a term of endearment designed to help parents-to-be engage with their unborn child. Nor is “the baby” compatible with the growing tendency in modern language tendency to abbreviate and shorten everything.

Readers who read of my first glimpse of my child will be aware that my bump is known as LUMPY.

As is probably the case with many pregnant women, I did not consciously choose a name for my bump – if anything it sort of chose itself.

In the earliest days of my pregnancy I received a humorous text message from one of the few people who knew my news from the very beginning who signed off with “take care of Lumpy” – as this was light hearted, and endearing it stuck.

However if I had any reservations then a clawing memory of another “Lumpy” eventually surfaced a few days ago. As an avid Winnie the Pooh fan – ever since the day my Datty brought me home my very own golden furry teddy bear adorned with the familiar red jumper – I was delighted to remember that Lumpy is also the name of the heffalump who befriends Pooh and the gang in the 2005 Heffalump movie.

So for the next 6 months I will be playing host to Lumpy in my Tummy – this could so easily be a song title from the Winnie the Pooh franchise – until FFOMC and I settle on something much more sensible and befitting our offspring.

Actions

Information

One response

28 10 2013
Mischief64 - AKA Caroline Fosbury

Don’t change it. Any child of yours will very quickly have to get used to your sense of humour and will probably be grateful that Lumpy was adopted. Lol. Saying that, after the first scan Andy called his daughter peanut because of the shape they are and his son was trouble because he always had the fidgets (and still does!).

Leave a Reply

