First glimpse of my child

23 10 2013

peekaboo

Yesterday will stand out in my memory as one of the best days in my life.

After what was, for us, an agonising 7 week wait, FFOMC and I made our way to the hospital for my first antenatal scan.

We were both really excited about seeing our child for the first time and confirming that everything was OK.

The experience was amazing but not entirely as expected.

FFOMC was a little late. He is still an inexperienced driver and had never visited this particular health centre before. He made a wrong turn when he was only one street away, resulting in two flustered parents-to-be running through the maze of corridors to find the correct department with only minutes to spare.

When we were settled and called in to have the scan, we watched eagerly as the screen flickered into life and a grainy image started to reveal itself amongst the grey fuzz that surrounded it. That was our first view of LUMPY.

“Oh look it’s doing a handstand.” Right enough there it was – our baby – only, for reasons known only to itself, it was completely upside down.

Much jiggling and prodding followed, to urge Lumpy to move into a more suitable position, I was even asked to attempt some star jumps to move the process along. I don’t know if you have ever seen a pregnant woman, wrestling with hormones and attempting to do star jumps in heels; but I am assured by FFOMC that it is a very funny sight to behold. Fathers to be please note – laughter is not the best response to these circumstances if you have any desire to add to your family at a future date.

After three further attempts to get a good view of the part monkey/part gymnast being inside me, I was sent for a walk and advised to drink as much water as I could manage before another attempt.

But after 15minutes Lumpy was still contentedly doing handstands – maybe it wanted an action shot of its new trick? “Mommy, Mommy, look at me, see what I can do?”

More prodding…

…more wriggling…

……more freaking star jumps.

Then, it was suggested that we try to take a look at the baby from a different angle.

I did not care for this new angle.

And apparently neither did Lumpy as the womb gymnastics continued, denying us the much needed money shot for the tests, measurements and picture which would have taken pride of place in my baby journal.

If FFOMC and I were engaged in competition over the issue I would definitely suggest that my genetics are winning right now.

Despite leaving the health centre without a picture of our beautiful, perfect baby, it was an amazing experience and what we did see will stay with us for the rest of our lives.

I have of course seen other people’s scans before, but nothing could have prepared me for seeing my own growing miracle. I fell in love with every shadow of its little spine and ribcage, FFOMC could not believe the clarity of the heart thumping rhythmically in it’s barely formed chest and when one little hand appeared on the screen, I had a lump in my throat.

I need to return for a second attempt at a scan in a few days, but while I will never have a record of this intimate and miraculous first sighting of my child, I will never forget the experience itself and the emotions I felt.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

