17th October teacher strike: An open letter to parents

16 10 2013

On 17th Oct, along with my fellow teachers, I will be on strike. Public oinion may not always be for teachers but I found this great open letter to parents that I wanted to share. It is easy to forget in the midst of the disruption and politics, that teachers not only know what is in the best interests of their students, but care about fighting for education.

Equus altus

Dear Parents

I’ve taken some time out to write this open letter to you because I believe it’s important to let you know why I am striking with my fellow teachers on Thursday 17th October.

Firstly, let me apologise for the inevitable inconvenience this action will cause many of you. Teachers do recognise – partly because many of them are parents themselves – that having to find childcare for the day or take a day off work to look after your children is a burden. That’s why taking strike action is always a very last resort. Believe me, none of us are particularly keen on losing a day’s pay either.

Many of you will have read in the press or heard on the news that teachers are taking strike action over changes to their pay and pensions. Often, this is shrouded in an air of disapproval, almost as if…

View original post 768 more words

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

