The future father of my children is…a bookworm

25 09 2013

bookworm

When he is not stealing cars, committing bank robbery and engaging in dubious activities with hookers on GTA5; FFOMC spends much of his time with his nose in a book.

This is a hobby of which I am entirely supportive. He is extremely well read and enjoys a wide range of genres (although fantasy is without a doubt his favourite). The ability to lose oneself in a good book is a pleasure and an opportunity to escape in alternate realities and FFOMC can become really absorbed in his reading material.

He is currently working his way through a blogging challenge answering questions about books he has read and is on Day 10: a book you thought you wouldn’t like but ended up loving. I love a good book myself and he has made some great recommendations over the years we have been together and has bought me some great presents such as The Hobbit, The Witching Hour and he even indulges my interest in Batman comics and graphic novels from time to time. Without a doubt, it was his suggestion that I read Terry Goodkind’s series, The Sword of Truth that has given me the most pleasure as a reader.

Of course as is the case with many hobby’s it can be irritating on occasion particularly on holiday when he can lose 8-10 hours, often totally forgetting that I am even there.

We spoke recently about our favourite childhood books. If he is to be a future father then it is probably best that we share the same ideals when bringing up our future children. We are in total agreement about classics like The Hungry Caterpillar, Meg and Mog and of course the Mr Men and Little Miss books. However he does not quite share my passion for Peace at Last and Where’s My Hat, and has berated my poor parents for not introducing me to Dr Seuss. I cannot abide anything by Roald Dahl and I doubt he cares much for The Worst Witch or Sweet Valley High.

No doubt our future children will have their favourites, and just to try us, they will bear no resemblance to our own nostalgic attachments to books read to us by our own parents, but I feel we should ensure that they experience the joy of reading and being read to.

What is your favourite childhood book and why?

 

Actions

Information

2 responses

25 09 2013
Sureya

The A.A. Milne Winnie the Pooh. Mum used to snuggle us up with her on the couch and read the stories to us. I remember fondly Pooh being tied to a balloon and being a “black cloud” so he could get near the bees’ nest, or Christopher Robin taking Pooh up or down the stairs (“bump bump bump”) and Tigger (absolutely favourite) who had to be seriously ADHD.
And Heidi and Hans Christian Anderson.
I’m sure the list will continue to grow the more I think about this.
When I was reading myself, I loved Famous Five and Secret Seven (as well as a lot of other Enid Blyton), along with Nancy Drew and the Hardy Boys.

26 09 2013
Mischief64 - AKA Caroline Fosbury

From my own childhood it would have to be “The wait for me kitten” a little one who like me was not the fastest child, but it all came good in the end. I know reading it endlessly to me drive my mum mad. Unfortunately I can’t seem to find a copy of this book anywhere so everyone must have loved it to bits just like me.

From my daughters childhood it would be “The very hungry caterpillar” and when she was a little older Gervese Phinns books of poetry for children.

Dr Seuss?? NEVER! Not for me, Gem or any of my step children!

Leave a Reply

