Final public performance of the academic year pending

18 07 2013

keep-calm-and-relax-school-holidays-are-coming-2

I have two and a half working days left this academic year. Unbelievably, unlike so many of my colleagues, I am still not winding down.

I have my final public performance on Monday – the night before we break up for summer. This is the performance I am perhaps most concerned about as I will not just be on the sidelines directing, I am also performing.

The assumption of many colleagues that I am immune to performance anxiety and nerves is misguided, especially at such a public event and to be honest it is a little on the knuckle and could go either way for me. However as I always say to my students, the best drama is that which starts with the phrase, “this might not work but…”

So for one final time this year I am back in rehearsals, dripping with sweat and almost ill with exhaustion, ready to tackle the last challenge of a demanding but rewarding academic year.

 

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

