The future father of my children…married me 9 years ago today

17 07 2013

Carrickfergus Castle
Tonight I am celebrating my 9th wedding anniversary.

FFOMC and I are saving our money for a foreign holiday so have not exchanged gifts; but for anyone who is interested the gifts associated with a nine year relatsionship are as follows:

Traditional 9th wedding anniversary gifts are made of Pottery and Willow.

A Modern Ninth wedding anniversary symbol is made of Leather.

The Flowers associated with the 9th anniversary are Poppies.

The Gemstone list shows Lapis Lazuli and Tiger Eye associated with this Wedding Anniversary.

 

When I was growing up in my home town of Carrickfergus; on a clear day I could see our beautiful well preserved Norman castle from my bedroom window – little did I know that one day I would marry my wonderful husband in this majestic building. I love, Love, LOVE my home town and I will never stop being proud of this little corner of the world.

English born FFOMC was a little overwhelmed when we were out clubbing one night in 2003 and received a telephone conversation during which my well meaning parents explained that they had booked our wedding venue and that we were to married in Carrickfergus Castle on 17th July 2004. That was the first time during our engagement and future marriage felt real.

The time passed quickly until the day he walked me up the aisle and we became husband and wife but I remember thinking on the day that he suited the venue perfectly.

As he is an avid follower of the fantasy genre whether TV, film or books; a castle seemed an appropriate venue for him and despite his dislike of being center of attention, he rose to the occassion and didnt put a foot wrong on the best day of our lives.

There have been other days and there will be many more to come but 17th July 2004 will always stand out in my memory as one of the best days of my life.

Actions

Information

3 responses

17 07 2013
sharonhughson

Happy anniversary. A wedding in a castle sounds like something of a fairy tale.
BTW, did you get leather, pottery to poppies from hubby for you anniversary?

17 07 2013
sharonhughson

Or poppies not to! Gracious me!

17 07 2013
zehirablog

It was definitely a fairy tale for us – no poppys – all available money is reserved for a romantic summer holiday.

Leave a Reply

