Don’t judge a book by it’s cover

14 07 2013

BIRTHDAY GIFT 2

Following my post yesterday about appreciating what you have; today I am looking at another gift I received but this time one that is in fact more valuable and meaningful than it at first appears.

This year we have been joined by our first male Drama teacher. He is a jack of all trades and has a heart of gold. On Friday he informed me that he had brought me a few birthday presents. When he presented me with these gifts they were not in traditional colourful birthday wrap but bound instead in white A3 paper fastened together with elastic bands. The makeshift presentation made me chuckle – the only thing that would have made it more fitting would have been the trademark gaffer tape that Drama teachers the world over believe can fix anything.

When I tentatively removed the paper I was touched by the thoughtfulness of the items it contained.

The first was a set of USB fairy lights: a sweet reference to my upcoming studio production of A Midsummer Night’s Dream.

A fan was next: not only because I suffer in extreme temperatures and am struggling in my hot studio but also because of my gradual transformation into a stereotypical Luvvie.

Then I discovered an urban myth quiz game.

The final gift was the book pictured above “Witch Hunting and Witch Trails” by C L’Estrange. As I understand it this is a very rare book. The dust jacket is discoloured and slightly torn, but it is in fairly good condition for its age (a little like me). My colleague gave it to me because of a particular play I often use with my GCSE class and he thought it would help me when I am teaching.

 

Like the wrapping paper in which they came to me, these gifts have a value that goes far beneath the surface and remind me that even relatively new friendships can have depth if you are prepared to look beyond initial outward appearances.

 

 

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

