Buying a home – I need a garden

9 06 2013

Garden

Every month I provide an update of my progress towards buying my own home.

This is my big mission in life right now and it is something I feel very passionately about. Whilst this goal is never far from my mind; in the summer months my desire for home ownership is even stronger. When the sun is out and friends continuously populate their facebook status updates with talk of beer and BBQ’s – I really miss having a garden.

I grew up in a house with a great garden complete with swing set. When I was a teenager my Mother finally got the conservatory she always wanted and my Dad got his patio. Mum is a real opportunist when it comes to good weather and I would regularly come home from school on a sunny day to discover her mid preparation for a family BBQ.

I want that in my own life. Just to be able to step through a set of French doors into my own outdoor space to get a bit of colour on my skin would have a massive impact on my leisure time. As a teacher my main holiday is in the summer and it would be lovely if I could make better use of this time. I have not lived in a property with a garden for the last 8 years. I live in a top floor flat. It is baking hot in the summer months and very uncomfortable. In addition to the heat the other disadvantage of the summer months is that the cracks in the damaged ceiling and walls seem more noticeable than in winter.

Of course I could go out to a local park to read my book in the sun – but its not quite the same. Each month FFOMC and I creep ever closer to our goal of owning our own property but it never actually feels any closer to actually happening.

 

PROGRESS TOWARDS RAISING A HOUSE DESPOSIT

DATE

% OF DEPOSIT SAVED

ESTIMATED MONTHS TILL PURCHASE

JULY 2012

28%

23 – June 2014

AUGUST 2012

31%

22 – June 2014

SEPTEMBER 2012

33%

21 – June 2014

OCTOBER 2012

36%

20 – June 2014

NOVEMBER 2012

42%

19 – June 2014

DECEMBER 2012

47%

17 – May 2014

JANUARY 2012

54%

15 – March 2014

FEBRUARY 2012

59%

14 – February 2014

MARCH 2012

62%

10 – January 2014

APRIL 2012

76%

                      6 – October 2013

MAY 2012

62%

10 – March 2014

JUNE 2012

73%

6 – December 2013

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

