You look…different

25 05 2013

Mirror

On Friday a close friend said to me “You look “different”.

She was in part making a direct comment about my current appearance – due to my sudden and unplanned weight lossparticularly noticable round my face. But as the conversation progressed I realised that there was more to it than a simple change in how I look. Over a period of time, even I have perceived in myself a subtle shift in my attitude, confidence, priorities and perhaps personality. Every experience, reaction and decision that I have ever had has resulted in miniscule shifts that combine to shape who I am as a person.

I have come to realise that – I am different.

I do not say this in a teenage angst “nobody understands me”, sort of way or by way of attempt to capture in words some sort of religious or spiritual process of enlightenment; but to acknowledge the contrast between the person I am now and the person I used to be. I would find it impossible to identify what exactly has changed – after all I have not had a personality transplant – but I do have a renewed sense of focus, confidence and purpose. None of these are qualities I was previously lacking but they somehow seem sharper and more clearly defined.

Is this simply an age thing? I am not sure.

I have experienced no life altering events or inspirational moments of late that have resulted in any deep reflection and periods of transition. Although I am comfortable in my own skin, deeply content with my lot in life, confident about how to affect the changes I desire and clear headed about my goals moving forward.

Change is inevitable. One of the most inspiration things I ever learnt from my father was the phrase “this too will pass”. We all change. Life moves on. The key thing is to identify the next step and be ready for it.

 

Actions

Information

One response

26 05 2013
sharonhughson

I was going to say, “I love when people notice that I’ve lost weight” but I see that your post is truly about something much deeper than that. Yes, if we stay the same, we risk being mistaken for dead.
Keep growing, learning and changing because that what living things do!

Leave a Reply

