Book – Genre

5 05 2013

BookI think I may have caught the writing bug.

My interest in commiting my thoughts to the written word continues to increase despite my frequent attacks of writers block. I have come to realise that I would love to take on a more purposeful project to give my writing more focus and with an end product in mind.

Like millions of others before – I would love to see if I have a book in me.

At present my thoughts are without form and may never fully take shape. This will not change unless I take action.

I started to consider how aspiring writers get started. I have a million ideas floating round in my head but no through line, overall plot, characters etc.

It occured to me that commiting to a specific genre may be a good starting point. I found some helpful lists and started to consider my own reading for pleasure and any areas I felt particularly drawn to.

Genres

  1. Adventure
  2. Children and teenagers
  3. Chick lit
  4. Comics and Graphic novels
  5. Crime
  6. Disaster fiction
  7. Fairies
  8. Fantasy
  9. Friendship
  10. Historical fiction
  11. Horror
  12. Paranormal
  13. Picture books
  14. Poetry
  15. Religion
  16. Romance
  17. Sci-fi
  18. Thriller
  19. Vampires
  20. Witches, wizards and magic
I am very drawn to the Romance, Crime, Fantasy, Religion and Vampires – though obviously not all at once!
Once I have settled on this I can start to explore more specific details but for now this has given me a sense of purpose and some food for thought.
Actions

Information

3 responses

28 06 2013
Book Concept | Zehira-blog

[…] did post about the idea of writing a novel a while ago and have been wracking my brains for an original idea t work with. I have no idea where […]

29 06 2013
Dc Hotel Washington

Wow that was unusual. I just wrote an incredibly long comment but after I
clicked submit my comment didn’t appear. Grrrr… well I’m not writing all that over
again. Anyways, just wanted to say excellent blog!

30 06 2013
zehirablog

Thank you for stopping by šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

