How should men say – I’m sorry?

22 03 2013

sorry

Today I arrived at work ready to face anything life threw at me.

However, as I opened the door to the theatre to let my little bunnies in to start their drama rehearsals; they just kept coming, and coming and coming. It was not my regular class (I was covering the absence of a colleague), so I did not recognise any of the children and as my confusion at the vast numbers of children arriving at my lesson grew and anxiety started to take hold, the manager of the Cover team blustered in.

In addition to my absent colleague the other member of the department had somehow managed to sleep through his alarm. As he doesn’t live particularly close, he was not going to be with me for some time. There were 60 children in total who entered my classroom and it was the day of their assessment. Unfortunately, just to make it as trying as possible, the children were also working not in groups but in pairs, giving me a total of 30 performances to watch and grade in less than an hour. Sufficient to say that it was VERY hard work!

When my sleepy colleague did arrive he produced the most beautiful bunch of flowers for me by way of an apology. They truly were stunning and I appreciated the gesture but I must be honest I would have been grateful for a cup of coffee or even better a can of Red Bull!

It occurred to me that flowers are a very ‘masculine’ strategy for acknowledging they have mucked up somehow and want to express their regret.

I think us girls should get together and agree some sort of system where the severity of the digression is reflected in the apology. As many men cannot express themselves in words I would suggest the following apology scale as a starting point:

 

Discretion

Apology
Leaving the toilet seat up Clean the entire bathroom – including mopping the floor.
Forgetting a birthday or anniversary Christmas is cancelled.
Telling you that a particular outfit makes you look fat. Poetic justice demands that you must spend the day in a floral dress and feather boa combo.
Take your mummy’s side over your partners. Go and live with your Mummy for a week or so until you see sense.
Put on the moves when they know you’re absolutely not in the mood Go without sex for a month.
Call you another woman’s name at an inappropriate moment You must legally change your own name to ‘Ivanna Pee’
Buys an expensive item for the house such as a TV without consulting you first. Spend an equal amount on shoes for you.
Comes home drunk and wakes you up. Attend a military boot camp and complete sleep deprivation training activities to learn the importance of sleep.

 This list is far from a complete but it should prove a useful starting point to work from – I would delighted to hear of any other suggestions people amy have on this topic.

As far as today goes – the flowers have made me smile but a hot cup of coffee would have been equally aceptable by way of apology!

I'm part of Post A Day 2013

Actions

Information

2 responses

23 03 2013
jessmittens

hahaha great list!

23 03 2013
zehirablog

Thank you, please feel free to add anything I have left out 🙂

Leave a Reply

