Quick simple marking strategy for stressed out teachers everywhere!

26 02 2013

Stairs

I by no means invented this technique – but I thank God that a more experienced teacher shared it with me during my training year!

I call it “Stairway to heaven marking

It is relatively simple so anyone can do it, just complete the following steps:

1/ Stand at the bottom of a flight of steps holding all the books you need to mark.

2/ Throw every piece of coursework as high as you can up the stairwell.

3/ Collect the books/worksheets etc into piles based on what stair they landed on.

4/ Every piece of work that landed on the stair highest up and furthest away from you gets an A.

5/ Every piece of work that landed on the second stair gets a B.

6/ Every piece of work that landed on the third stair gets a C.

7/ Every piece of work that landed on the………..

………well I am sure you get the idea.

If only I had remembered this superb tecnique at the beginning of my evening, tonight would have been VERY different!!!

If anyone in the teaching profession has any other great ideas about how to reduce our workload please let me know because – despite the fact that I apparently end my working day at 3:05pm I seem to regularly finish closer to 11:00pm.

I'm part of Post A Day 2013

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

