Not Pregnant – Just Fat

19 02 2013

baby-on-board-T-Shirts

While watching daytime TV this morning one of the ‘hot topics‘ was the embarrassing situation when you have put on a few pounds and someone asks the dreaded question “When is the baby due?”

This is always an awkward moment. I am not really concerned by my appearance and never have been. I don’t wear makeup, I am not at all fashion conscious and my scales are buried somewhere in my bathroom collecting dust as I rarely feel motivated to use them. I definitely do not care about the ‘number’ on the clothes I buy as I am well aware that a 12 in one store may not be the same fit as it is in another store, the important thing is that I have clothes that fit.

However I have always been fairly lucky with my weight. I have been a size 12 for most of my life but as I am not the tallest of people I need to be careful that what I wear does not highlight my lumps and bumps. I do gain and lose weight as I over or under eat and go through stages of inactivity depending on my mood and circumstances; but this has never been extreme and I have never dieted.

As I am in a good position to consider parenthood having been married for some time and in a stable job, I cannot really blame people for speculating that the affect of last night’s over indulgent Indian banquet is actually an early sign of pregnancy.

According to my Mother I have been ‘trying’ for a baby for at least the last five years or so. I have suggested that this feels a little like hedging her bets and that she cannot claim some sort of physic connection when I do actually become pregnant just because the odds are she will at some point be right.

One morning last summer when I had put on a little weight and was behind on my laundry I made some pretty poor outfit choices. My gorgeous pencil dress paired with flat summer sandals did not flatter my figure and I spent a pretty painful day at work noticing during every conversation that all eyes were directed at my tummy.

I decided not to wear it until I had trimmed down again.

The television presenters discussing this gritty issue today read some horror stories sent in by viewers. One man had written in with what I considered to be a great suggestion: he thought ALL pregnant women should wear a Baby on board badge to avoid confusion. But until this idea catches on – forever ending speculation I think I may invest in an emergency, ‘I’m having a fat day’ addition to my wardrobe:

NO-BABY-INSIDE-JUST-FAT

Btw I found these T-Shirts at: http://www.spreadshirt.co.uk

I'm part of Post A Day 2013

Actions

Information

2 responses

7 04 2013
Garcinia Cambogia

Good post. I learn something new and challenging on sites I stumbleupon every day.
It will always be exciting to read content from other authors
and use a little something from other websites.

7 04 2013
zehirablog

Thank you, glad you enjoyed it.

Leave a Reply

