The future father of my children…

23 01 2013

I married my wonderful husband in the summer of 2004.

It was less than 10mins after the ceremony before someone asked: “So when are you going to start a family?”

I was a little taken aback, I hadn’t had a full hour to adapt to my new role as “wife” and I was already expected to consider my interest in a further promotion to the role of “mother”.

I have never been adverse to the idea of children but I never wanted to rush into parenthood either. I just wanted to enjoy being married first. However 8 years later and it is still just the two of us and for those of you who know me personally, I am sorry to disappoint but this is not “the big announcement”.

The problem is when choosing the person with whom you will spend the rest of your life you subconsciously consider their suitability against a list of criteria: mutual attraction, companionship, shared interests, values and aspirations. However I had never really considered my husband’s suitability as a Father.

When I imagined what the future father of my children would be like, the image that came to mind was this:

Father

But now that it is a real possibility I have considered, what if I end up with this:

homer_simpson

Now that we have started to discuss parenthood in earnest I have been considering my husbands fatherhood potential and I have decided to write regular posts about “THE FUTURE FATHER OF MY CHILDREN”. I need to consider what he will bring to what will hopefully be the most important job role he ever undertakes.

I will take some time to consider how to best assess my husbands suitability for fatherhood but for now I will simply say “the future father of my children…is my soul mate”

I cannot imagine life without him and if I am to take this journey into parenthood, I cannot imagine there could be anyone better to travel with…

…but…WATCH THIS SPACE!

I'm part of Post A Day 2013

Actions

Information

7 responses

8 03 2013
8 03 2013
8 03 2013
8 03 2013
8 03 2013
20 03 2013
27 03 2013

Leave a Reply

