Seasons of Sums

17 10 2012

I have been most upset by a recent decision at work by the School Senior Management Team.

In their infinite wisdom they have decided that a series of inspections should take place at extremely short notice over the next few days.

I will write about the depth of my feeling on this issue tomorrow night but for those of you unfamiliar with the process of school inspections – they are a total pain in the backside. While this is being put forward as a learning opportunity – not to be confused with a ‘mock Ofsed Inspection’ – to the average classroom it is a dstinction without a difference.

Rather than post my thoughts without some time for reflection I have decided to express myself through the use of song.

An old friend of mine who has made a great impact on my life recently starred in a production of Rent and I saw a clip of her in performance singing Seasons of Love. The repetition of the numbers in this song has always appealed to me. I love the sentiment behind it, of the impossibility of measuring quality of life simply by counting up the number of minutes one has left to live. It occured to me that  in many ways this is similiar to my predicament of being judged professionally not by the quality of my work or the achievements of the young people I work with but on a box ticking exercise.

I have decided therefore to start rewritting the lyrics to reflect my own frustrations.

Its not finished but the lyrics are below and if you feel so inclined you can attempt to sing along using a karoke version of this song I found, ENJOY! (and if you come up with any good lyric to use for the second half I would be very grateful if you would share them with me 🙂

SEASONS OF LOVE KAROKE VERSION

SEASONS OF LOVE – REVISED

ALL TEACHING STAFF
Five hundred twenty-five thousand
Six observations;
Five hundred twenty-five thousand
Targets, oh dear!
Five hundred twenty-five thousand
Six, damn inspectors;
How many drop in’s should you have in a year?

HEADTEACHER
Your teaching, and practice, are up for
Evaluation.

TEACHER 1

Performance Reviews are the bane of my life.

STAFF
Five hundred twenty-five thousand
Six hundred children

Who need the guidance that

Will guide them in life

ALL

But it’s all about sums………………………………………..
Data and sums……………………………………………..
Numbers and sums………………………………………

Spreadsheets and sums (repeat)

NQT
Five hundred twenty-five thousand
Six teaching standards!
4S will find a reason
that I should fail.

HOD’s

Five hundred twenty-five thousand
Six evening meetings
How do you find time for the
Lessons you plan?

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

