Happy Anniversary

20 07 2012

On Tuesday this week, my husband and I celebrated our 8th Wedding Anniversary. He is the most important person in my life and I cannot imagine what my life would look like without him. We have been together since we were 20 and have had some wonderful times. When I was filling out the anniversary card I picked for him I decided to do some research and find some inspirational quotes about married life to make him smile. It was an extremely disappointing experience.

Online I was able to find pages and pages of quotes about marriage but nothing positive and uplifting. The sites should come with some sort of warning. Any couples considering marriage who accidentally stumbled across them, should be aware that reading this material could put them off the idea of marriage entirely.

It is socially acceptable to be happy and in love when you are engaged and have your whole life ahead of you but if a married person so much as says Happy Anniversary to their partner on their Facebook status, the comments that follow are often  snide and unpleasant “pass me a bucket”, “you’d get less time for murder”. Why should married people be ashamed of simply saying that they are still happy and in love? It seems sad. I dug out this passage that was read at my own wedding.

“Love is patient, love is kind.
It does not envy, it does not boast, it is not proud.
It does not dishonor others, it is not self-seeking, it is not easily angered, it keeps no record of wrongs.
Love does not delight in evil but rejoices with the truth.
It always protects, always trusts, always hopes, always perseveres.
Love never fails.”
1 Cor. 13:4-8

I love this passage and the positive message of hope and love. So at the risk of deeply offending the cynics out there:

Happy Anniversary sweetheart, I love you.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

